Retrieving data from multi tables

Mufleeh

Hi all,

I am new to PHP as well as to this forum. Thanks in advance for you support.

My problem is to retrieve data from multi tables. I mean contains Zones, Division, Schools and Teachers. In a single Zone there can be many divisions and in a single division there can be many schools. I need to make a query to find out all the teachers in a particular zone.

I made the query like below,

$query = $this->dbh->prepare("SELECT * FROM teachers,school_locations where teachers.nic=(SELECT nic FROM teacher_appointments where ............school_locations.division_id=(SELECT division_id FROM divisions WHERE divisions.division_name='$_POST[division_name]')))");

this works fine where there is only one zone, one division and one school.

I used foreach loop to view the data on this case. Can anyone please let me know how to retrieve the data from multiple tables?

What I can see from what you've posted is

Table teachers links to teacher_appointments on nic column

school_locations links to divisions on division_id column

But how does school_locations link to teachers and teacher_appointments?

Hi,

This is my complete query...

$query = $this->dbh->prepare("SELECT * FROM teachers,school_locations where teachers.nic=(SELECT nic FROM teacher_appointments where teacher_appointments.census_id =(SELECT census_id FROM school_locations where school_locations.division_id=(SELECT division_id FROM divisions WHERE divisions.division_name='$_POST[division_name]')))");

Thank you

Ok.  Using explicit join syntax, you could write that as:

SELECT *
FROM teachers t
JOIN teacher_appointements ta ON (ta.nic = t.nic)
JOIN school_locations sl ON (sl.census_id = ta.census_id)
JOIN divisions d ON (d.division_id = sl.division_id)
WHERE d.division_name = '{$_POST['division_name']}'