Learning C or C++, which first?

I say C first because it forces you to learn things from the ground up, but you don't have to become a professional with it - enough to, say, understand the PHP source code. C++ abstracts out some things that are actually important to know and understand. Things that not nearly enough programmers nowadays know about. Also, get off my lawn.

Get off your lawn? Lol..

Are you able to suggest a good book to start with? I know how to make some simple math programs and such in C++ already.. I have a little bit of knowledge on the basics of C++..

I started programming 3 years ago, Started with PHP, now I can do anything I need done with that.. but if you have any suggestions or could point me in the right direction? Thanks!

Not really - I don't learn with books or tutorials. Any series you've tried before and liked? Head First? O'Reilly? Mosey on over to a bookstore, skim through a few books they have, and see what's out there. There's bound to be one or two that will work well for you.

Ahh, I forgot about Headfirst .. I own Headfirst Java - Reading that book was a decent experience.. They make it easier to comprehend.. I'm going to look into Headfirst C++ and C. I've got some of the basics of C++ down. I'm self taught in PHP, I've mastered pretty much every aspect of that language.. I don't know why it has taken me 3 years to even initiate trying to learn C++.. In the beginning it was intimidating I guess.. lol now Its not bad at all