Very Basic Question - Collecting Values From Form

joshspaulding

Hey everyone, this is my first post after my introduction. Loving all of the info I've already found here!

As I explained in my introduction, I'm new to learning PHP, but I do know html fairly well (although far from an expert) and I understand PHP implementation (what it's for, what it can do, when it should be used etc.)

So I have a very basic question for you all. I'm putting together a test site just to learn basic PHP hands-on. The site is amiarepublicanordemocrat dot com. I have the form setup in index.php and I have results.php created. But I can't figure out how to echo what the user's answers were, while associating an extra snippet of text next to each answer.

There are only two options per question and all I want results.php to display is the user's answer to each question.

Here is the form from index.php

<form name="question1" action="results.php" method="post">

<h4>1. Are you pro-life (against abortion) or pro-choice (for abortion)?</h4>
<input type="radio" name="q1" value="q1a1"/> : I am pro-life<br />
<input type="radio" name="q1" value="q1a2"/> : I am pro-choice

<h4><strong>2.</strong> Do you believe that gun rights are necessary to preserve safety, freedom and to protect us from tyranny, or do you believe unarmed citizens are safer citizens?</h4>
<input type="radio" name="q2" value="q2a1"/> : I support gun rights<br />
<input type="radio" name="q2" value="q2a2"/> : I believe citizens should be unarmed

<h4><strong>3.</strong> Do you believe in free markets (limited regulation on business) or do you believe the government should regulate business' to any extent necessary?</h4>
<input type="radio" name="q3" value="q3a1"/> : I support free markets<br />
<input type="radio" name="q3" value="q3a2"/> : I support regulating to any extent necessary<br />
<br />
<input type="submit" value="Tell me if I'm a Republican or Democrat!" />
</form>

And here is the PHP from results.php

<?php