Relating New Rows In 2 Different Tables?

Kristoff1875

Season's Greetings guys,

I'm not sure if this is possible, i'm a semi noob so go easy on me!

I have 2 tables, Clients & Jobs. When I post a new Job, i've got a page that adds jobs as a new row, with the chosen Client ID, so for example if the Client ID is 'CLIENT007' and the job number is '007', In my Jobs table, I get "ClientID: CLIENT007; JobID: 007;"

Hope this makes sense so far. Anyway is there a way of me finding the last job number and incrementing the next job? So instead of having to enter a JobID it will do something like:

Client ID = CLIENT007 last JobID = 007, so next JobID is 008.

Bare in mind that I can't simply auto increment the job ID as I could have CLIENT002 with JobID 123.

Hope this makes some sort of sense!!

Many thanks in advanced!

Thanks for the quick reply.

I have an auto-increment primary key, but the ID I want to relate is related to my filing system. For example I have client ID's, and then job id's that follow. For example CLIENT007's first job id is job 1, then the next job is job 2. If I use the auto-increment on the jobs table, then I have a situation where it could go:

JobID: 1; Client: CLIENT007;

JobID: 2; Client: CLIENT002;

JobID: 3; Client: CLIENT007;

Where CLIENT007 would never have had a Job 2.

Edited by Kristoff1875

As I said to begin with, I'm sure it was going to seem confusing, and very difficult to explain. The basic reason for the way of storing them this way is because I already have a client job order in place and as each client has jobs in numerical order, I can relate to them really quickly. They can tell me it's job number 26 and then I go to their client folder, and locate job 26 in a list of jobs 1-30 for example. At the moment i'm using:

"INSERT INTO
Jobs (ClientID, JobNumber)
values
'{$_POST['ClientID']}',
'{$_POST['JobNumber']}'"