5 replies to this topic

#1 Scoopsowl

Scoopsowl

• New Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 31 December 2012 - 10:42 AM

Hi,
I am new to php programming but found a script that checks email validation. The script works fine but instead of displaying the error message "Email address is invalid" I would like the script to go to an error page that I have designed. Below is a section of the script I am using. Any ideas?

stristr($_REQUESTemail," ")){$errors[] = "Email address is invalid";}else{$

Thanks

#2 cpd

cpd

¬_¬

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 881 posts
  • LocationLondon, UK

Posted 31 December 2012 - 11:10 AM

You can redirect from there using the header("Location: ...") function but without seeing the rest of the script no-one can tell you if its a good idea or not as additional logic may be carried out after that if statement.
"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it."

"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."

#3 Jessica

Jessica

This is not my name.

• Gurus
  • 8,982 posts
  • LocationDallas, TX

Posted 31 December 2012 - 11:25 AM

Don't forget to call die() after the header.
My goal in replying to posts is to help you become a better programmer, including learning how to debug your own code and research problems. For that reason, rather than posting the solution, I reply with tips and hints on how to find the solution yourself. See below for useful links when you get stuck.

How to Get Good Help: How to Ask Questions | Don't be a help vampire
Debugging Your Code: Debugging your SQL | What does a php function do? | What does a term mean? | Don't see any errors?
Things You Should Do: Normalize Your Data | use print_r() or var_dump()
Lulz: "Functions should not have side effects." - trq

Please take a look at my new PHP/Web Dev blog: The Web Mason - Thanks!!

#4 Scoopsowl

Scoopsowl