I get this error Warning: mysqli_error() expects parameter 1 to be mysqli, boolean given in

h1234

its a login form here is my code thats producing the error . I am really new to php. this is for a project . thanks for the help. 

function login($username , $password){

GLOBAL $dbc; //database

$user_id= user_id_from_username($username);

$username = sanatize($username);
  $password = md5($password);

$query= mysqli_query($dbc,"SELECT COUNT(`user_id`) FROM `users`  WHERE `username` = '$username' AND  `password ` = '$password'");

MYSQLI_ERROR($query);

$check= mysqli_fetch_array( $query , MYSQLI_BOTH); // even if i add this set of code the query still gives the above error.

}

the mysqli_error( ... ) statement requires the mysqli connection link as a parameter.

and how do i know that, by reading the documentation and examples for that particular statement in the php.net documentation.

you also need to echo the string that mysqli_error returns so that you can see it in the browser.

the mysqli_error( ... ) statement requires the mysqli connection link as a parameter.

and how do i know that, by reading the documentation and examples for that particular statement in the php.net documentation.

you also need to echo the string that mysqli_error returns so that you can see it in the browser.

hi thanks i did that  and it says Unknown column 'password ' in 'where clause'Array ( )  

what do you suppose that error means?

i fixed it but now my code wont doesnt care if the password is incorrect or not. I think it has something to do with the $check variable but i cant figure it out :/ it has to check and see if both username and password it correct(username works ) in oder to proceed.my login page contains all the if statements for this . When i check the mysqli_error($dbc) is only echo's Array ( )

function login($username , $password){

GLOBAL $dbc;

$user_id = user_id_from_username($username);