PHP newbie having trouble with php5 on debian 7.2

Go to solution Solved by phantom21,

I'm not new to Linux, but I am new to php. I'm trying to set up a lamp server. Using Debian 7.2, Apache2, Mysql, and PHP.

I want to install wordpress eventually.

Doing all this in a VM using virtualbox (4.2.10).

Now, have installed the OS. Using apt-get installed apache, mysql, and php.

Apache is installed. the test page displays.

Mysql I can log into the mysql cli.

The php test page does not display. The browser (firefox) says it can't find the file. This test uses the code as follows:
<?php
phpinfo();
?>php

it was placed in /var/www (the same place the test index.html file is).

Further, when I type php -a to invoke the interactive php shell, it seems to halfway work. It acts as if I was in a cli shell, except it doesn't display any kind of a prompt. Further, I can type stuff into this, but it does nothing except move to the next line (after pressing the enter key, as if it was text editor) or nothing. For example, type "echo 5+8;" produces nothing.

Looking up documentation on installing these components in debian, the docs say I should have a file libphp5.so in a modules diirectory somewhere. Using find I cannot fine a file libphp5.so nor a directory module or modules.

So, a little help here. Anyone have a clue why this is not happening?

Thanks,

Mark

The php test page does not display. The browser (firefox) says it can't find the file. This test uses the code as follows:

<?php

phpinfo();

?>php

it was placed in /var/www (the same place the test index.html file is).

Are you sure it's not something simple like having the wrong URL or the wrong filename? Even if PHP wasn't working, going to the right URL should get you something besides a 404.