Using Pear MDB2 and Mysqli

davidannis

I have a site, up and running on the internet and want to run it locally. On my Mac I have Zend CE and can access my database with mysqli without a problem. The existing site uses Pear MDB2 to access the database. So, I installed MDB2 on my local machine and still couldn't access the database through the MDB2 code that works on the web server. I added an array to try to open the database connection on port number 10088 but that doesn't make any difference. I am new to Pear and MDB2. Any help appreciated.

To illustrate the problem I have created code that just opens the database directly and then fails with MDB2. Since it works in the first case, the database, username, etc. are all working.

<?php

ini_set("display_errors", "1");
error_reporting(-1);

ini_set('include_path', ini_get('include_path') . ':/home/davidann/php'.':/usr/local/zend/bin');

//Mysqli direct
include_once('setUnamePass.php');
$link = mysqli_connect("localhost", DBUSER, DBPASS, DATABASE) or die("Unable to connect!");
echo 'Success using mysqli directly';
$result=  mysqli_close($link);

//MDB2
include_once('MDB2.php');
define('DB_DSN', 'mysqli://'.DBUSER.':'.DBPASS.'@localhost/'.DATABASE);
class valuation {
public function __construct() {
		//open database connection
                //$options = array(
                  //  'port' => 10088,);
		$this->db_connection = MDB2::connect(DB_DSN);
		if (PEAR::isError($this->db_connection)) {
			exit($this->db_connection->getMessage());
		}

//set fetch mode to associative
		$this->db_connection->setFetchMode(MDB2_FETCHMODE_ASSOC);
	}
}
$valuation = new valuation();
?>

The output is as follows:

Success using mysqli directly
Strict Standards: Declaration of MDB2_Driver_Common::raiseError() should be compatible with that of PEAR::raiseError() in /usr/local/zend/bin/MDB2.php on line 990