Call a function

shaung
Go to solution Solved by Psycho,

Hello, I am new to JS and PHP.

I cannot for the life of me get any js function to run, no matter how simple it is.

I have the function in a seperate js file.  The function pops up an alert that says hello.  Of course I have bigger and better plans for what I want to do, but I have to get a basic js function to work before I can do that.

What is the minimum I need to do to run a function from a button click?

Here are some snippets.

in my .js file:

function sayHello()
    {
        alert('Hello');
    } 

I am including the .js file using the web template from our dept at work, so I know it is correct.

in the code I am calling it like this:

<button onclick="sayHello();">Click Me</button>

Nothing I do will make any javascript work.  I know I am missing something very basic.

Please....

thx

This works for me:

test.htm

<html>
<head>
    <script src="myscript.js"></script>
</head>
<body>
    <button onclick="sayHello();">Click Me</button>
</body>
</html>

myscript.js

function sayHello()
{
    alert('Hello');
}

Note that the js page needs to be in the same directory as the htm page. If not, the path to the js file will need to be modified in the script tag.

Here is how I am adding the js file (using our work template)

//add additional ccs and js files (optional)
        $hccTemplate->addJSFile("lightview.js", "/lightview/js/");
        $hccTemplate->addCSSFile("lightview.css", "/lightview/css/");
        $hccTemplate->addCSSFile("jquery.dataTables.css", "https://ajax.aspnetcdn.com/ajax/jquery.dataTables/1.9.4/css/");
        $hccTemplate->addJSFile("jquery.dataTables.min.js", "https://ajax.aspnetcdn.com/ajax/jquery.dataTables/1.9.4/");
        $hccTemplate->addJSFile("dataTables.js", "required/");
        $hccTemplate->addJSFile("showAddForm.js", "required/");