PHP Login Script Issues

Catana
Go to solution Solved by Ch0cu3r,

Hi,

Currently having an issue with php login script. The login script works fine and logs in the correct user, but the problem is, is that any link I click regardless whether it is the log out button, it seems to end the session and logs me back out again. Total newbie to php, can I have some help please? Also, is there a way to display the users' name from the user table inside the echo  "you logged in as", I can only seem to get the ID? Thank you for your help.

Login form (in page header):

<div class="loginform">

<?php

if ($_SESSION['id'] > 0){ 

echo "You are logged in as"; 

?> 

<?php
print $GLOBALS['user']->name; 
?>

<a href="logout.php">Logout</a>

<?php

}else{ 

echo "<p>Login:</p>\n"; 

?>

<form name="loginform" action="<?php echo $_SERVER['PHP_SELF']; ?>" method="post">
<b>Username:</b> <input type="text" name="liusername"> 
   <b>Password:</b> <input type="password" name="lipassword">
             <input type="submit" name="lisubmit" value="Login">
  </form> 

</div>

PHP authenticate (in page top)

<?php

if (isset($_POST['lisubmit']));

$query = "SELECT user_id, user_password FROM user WHERE user_username = '".$_POST['liusername']."'"; 

$result = mysql_query($query) or die (mysql_error());

$row = mysql_fetch_array($result);

if ($row['user_password'] == $_POST['lipassword']){

$_SESSION['loggedin'] = true;
$_SESSION['id'] = $row['user_id'];

}else{

$_SESSION['loggedin'] = false;
$_SESSION['id'] = 0;

}

?>
Edited by Catana

• Solution

I can only seem to get the ID?

That is because you are only setting the id in the session.

$_SESSION['loggedin'] = true;
$_SESSION['id'] = $row['user_id'];

To set the username in the session too, add the following after those lines

$_SESSION['username'] = $_POST['liusername']

Now you can display the users username by echoing $_SESSION['username'] variable