JOIN user b
            ON a.user_id = b.user_id
        RIGHT JOIN blog_comments c
            ON a.blog_id = c.blog_id
        WHERE a.published = 1
        GROUP BY a.dateposted DESC
        LIMIT 5
        "

I have gotten the proper data but I can't figure out how to get the all of the comments for each blog post, currently it will only join the rows and add the first comment, and leave the remaining comments out.

Tables are:

blog

blog_id - Primary | dateposted | content | title | published

user

user_id - Primary | login | img 

blog_comments

comment_id - Primary | blog_id - FKey | comment

I appreciate the assistance, I'm new to JOINS and my Google reading has allowed me to compile this query so far but it's getting over my head lol.

Your GROUP BY is "grouping", i.e. collapsing, the records. That needs to be taken out. Also, the JOIN on the comments should be a LEFT JOIN. This assumes you want all of the blog posts - even if there are no comments. Lastly, you have a LIMIT with will only allow 5 records to be returned. Because of the JOINs you may get five records all for the same blog post with different comments. Or you could get five blog posts with one comment each. Unless you can explain what you were trying to achieve with that limit, it's difficult to know how it needs to change.

You reference a field called username in the SELECT clause that you don't mention as being in the comments table and it doesn't make sense being in that table to me.

I removed the aliases from the first two tables. The point of using aliases is to make it easier to read the query. When you use something like 'a' which has no correlation to the table name it has the opposite effect. I wouldn't use an alias on a table that is only four characters long anyway.

SELECT blog.blog_id, blog.dateposted, blog.content, blog.title, blog.published,
       user.login, user.img,
       bc.username, bc.comment
FROM blog
JOIN user
  ON blog.user_id = user.user_id