Framework Suggestion

Jaswinder

Hi guys

I am a php programmer and  in a big confusion. I want to learn a framework, but can't figure out which one start ?

CakePHP

Codelgniter

Symfony

laravel

I am new to them, so you can suggest me which one to start 1st and move on to other. Or If i miss any other framework , you can tell me that also.

Any help is appriciable.

Thanks

Codelgniter is an abomination and a dying project so forget it.

Any of the other 3 are probably worthwhile though I don't hear much about Cake these days (but that is likely just the circles I hang in).

As for where to start. This question gets asked all the time and the answer is always the same. Try them all and see.

If I were in your position I would spend a weekend with each, and then decide. They are all very capable, so it's just personal opinions as to which one you like best.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 4 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...

Everyone should hate it, its just a really big class - pile of (insert very foul word).

I'm extremely fond of laravel. Put together such that its relatively intuitive and provides some extremely useful features. Its also quite a mature framework which is generally a good thing.

• 3 weeks later...

Laravel is best choice.

Now, in laravel 4.3(official release in september) the app structure is a more "programming approach". You will be really happy to work with laravel.

I thought I read the other day that because of the amount of changes in Laravel 4.3 it was being pushed out as Laravel 5?

• 1 month later...

Im also looking for a framework,  but Laravel seems too fast moving for me.  I want something with a relatively long lifecycle per release.  I don't have time to relearn stuff every couple of months.