Safe password hash

KubeR

Hi,

Recently I've been trying writing a safe password hash and I wanted to know that if I use an MD5 hash at the end, just so it will be like some short of "packed",so instead of saving a 128 string, I'll use md5 to "pack" it into 32 characters and save up to 96 characters.

I know MD5 isn't safe and all, but the question is, does it lower the security ?

Also, would be happy for feedbacks about my password hash

function hash_($input,$key) {    $op=hash("whirlpool",hash("sha512",$key) . "$" . $input . "$" . hash("sha512",$key));    $h1=hash("sha512",$key);$h2=hash("sha512",$key);
     for($x=0;$x<24;$x++){$op=hash("whirlpool",$h1 . "$" . $op . "$" . $h2);}    return $op;}
Is it secured enough for saving high number of users or it can be improved somehow ?

This might sound like I am a newbie, but I prefer sound like one instead of going the wrong way.

- KubeR.

Don't invent your own crypto algorithms. Contrary to popular belief, it's not as easy as randomly throwing together a bunch of hash algorithms. It requires expert knowledge, careful design, extensive peer review and real-life testing for at least a decade. You don't fulfil a single one of those requirements.

This doesn't even make sense:

• So $key is a secret key, I guess? Do you not realize that this allows an attacker to break all hashes in parallel once they've obtained the key?
  • Why do you keep calculating the SHA-512 hash of $key? Do you not realize that the result is always the same?
  • The entire algorithm requires just one SHA-512 calculation and 26 WHIRLPOOL calculations. Do you not realize that even a stock PC can do this millions of times per second?
  • There may be tons of other weaknesses, but none of us is a cryptographer, so none of us is qualified to talk about it.