Help needed for checkbox issue

macytan1988

I'm currently developing a website which allows users to register and log into the system to read news articles in RSS form.

A subscription page with a list of checkboxes (like CNN, BBC etc) is provided for the users to choose which news site they want to include in their customized RSS feed page.

I successfully stored the checkbox values in array form into the database. For example, if the user ticks "CNN", "BBC", "ABC News", the values that will be stored in database will be: cnn, bbc, abc

Since I'm a beginner in web coding, especially in PHP and MYSQL, I have two questions here.

Q1. How can I retrieve the stored values and display it on the subscription page with the specific checkboxes checked based on user's subscription? For instance, if the user already subscribed to CNN, when he logs into the system next time, he should be able to see the already-ticked CNN checkbox.

Q2. How can I retrieve the stored values and put it onto the customised RSS page? It's something like: if cnn is selected, then add http://rss.cnn.com/rss/edition_world.rss. Is there any tutorial on that?

Last but not least, forgive me for asking so many questions in one go in this lengthy piece and thanks for all the replies in advance! =)

Table structure:

BbLjJIt.jpg

HTML for checkboxes:

<input type="checkbox" name="subs[]" value="mal-malins"> The Malaysian Insider</option>
        <input type="checkbox" name="subs[]" value="mal-malaymo"> The Malay Mail Online</option>
        <input type="checkbox" name="subs[]" value="mal-star"> The Star</option>
        <input type="checkbox" name="subs[]" value="mal-nst"> New Straits Times</option>

Code for storing the checkbox values:

//START: Subscription 

if(isset($_POST['subscribe'])){
if(isset($_POST['subs'])){
try {

$data= $_POST['subs'];

$subs = implode(",", (array)$data);

$stmt = $db->prepare("UPDATE members SET subs = :subs WHERE username = '$username' ");
$stmt->execute(array(