href to php function

adke001458

Hello,

I have created a webpage that essentially generates an sql query and then puts the results into a table that is displayed.
On one of the columns in this displayed table, I want to allow the user to click on each of the values which will in turn execute a php function. I have the hyperlink working but this is to a separate page.
What I actually need to do is firstly - just ran a php function that will create a new table beneath the currently displayed one.
Secondly, once this is achieved, I need to pass some value to the function so that the generated table is dependent on the value that was clicked.

I've tried a few things and researched but I am struggling. I am a beginner.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here is an extract of the code used for inputting data into the original table - showValuesSR is the function name
<?php
while (!$rsMetrics->EOF) {
?>
<tr>
<?php
for ($x=0; $x<$numberOfFields; $x++) {

if ($fieldNames[$x] == "Values_SR"){ ?>
<td><a href= ?showValuesSR><?php echo $rsMetrics->fields[$fieldNames[$x]]->Value?></a></td>
<?php }
else{ ?>
<td><?php echo $rsMetrics->fields[$fieldNames[$x]]->Value?></td>
<?php
}
}
?>
</tr>
<?php
$rsMetrics->MoveNext();
}

?>

</table>

<?php
function showValuesSR(){

?>
<table border="0" cellpadding="5" width="100%">
<tr><td
background="../images/table_toolbar_bkg.gif" align="center"><font color="Blue" face="verdana" size="2"><strong>function working</strong></td></tr>
</table>

<?php
}
?>

Mouse clicks are handled by the browser on the client after PHP has finished executing on the server so you cannot call a PHP function directly in response to a mouse event. If you don't want to go to another page then you need to use AJAX.