PHP Form Validation (CSS + HTML5)

ahphpnz
Go to solution Solved by maxxd,

Hi All,

I'm very new to PHP and have been reading forums for the better half of two days trying to get ot the bottom of an issue I'm having with Contact form validation.

Problem: When submitting the form data, the information stored in a variable is not outputted to the webpage.

What I think I'm expecting: On form submission, the HTML5 elements should be checked to see if they are empty. If they are empty, the "string" that I'm storing in the *Err variables should then be outputted on the page to advise the use that the field has not been filled in.

Things I've tried: I've confirmed that Apache server is configured to allow HTML pages to be parsed as PHP and have verified that it's working by confirming that PHP scripts do run in the page, PHP includes within the HTML documents apply and that when I use <?php echo "Blah";?> on the page, it outputs correctly. When using a statement such as <?php echo $blah;?> or <?php echo "$blah";?> or <?php echo "{$blah}";?>, the content of the variable is not displayed to the user submitting the form. What am I doing wrong here? I'm trying to do this with just CSS, HTML5 and PHP - I've read about jquery and javascript but preference is to stay with the three above unless what I'm trying to do is not possible.

Any pointers/assistance would be hugely appreciated - I mustn't be understanding something correctly.

Cheers,

A

PHP Script: (P.S... I've intentionally left the mail component out until I get the form validating correctly).

<?php

htmlspecialchars($_SERVER["PHP_SELF"]);

if ($_SERVER["REQUEST_METHOD"] == "POST") {
   if (empty($_POST["name"])) {
     $nameErr = "Name is required"; echo $nameErr;
   } else {
     $name = test_input($_POST["name"]);
   }

if (empty($_POST["email"])) {
     $emailErr = "Email is required";
   } else {
     $email = test_input($_POST["email"]);
   }

if (empty($_POST["website"])) {
     $website = "";
   } else {