Expiring SESSIONS

Landslyde
Go to solution Solved by mac_gyver,

I don't know how to fix this. In the php.ini, I have sessions set to auto-start, cookie lifetime and session lifetime both set to 5000 seconds. Thing is, even while I'm doing work (on my site) and have a session started, the session still times out after 15 minutes or so. I've been working on displaying an HTML table with MySQL data all night. I can't count the times that I was sent back to the login page because the session had expired.

When the user logs in, I set a session var to their memberID. And on the work pages, I check that each time the page loads:

<?php
   if ($_SESSION["memberid"] == "") {
     header("Location: client.php");
   }
?>

I'm new to php, so I'm only guessing the session's expiring due to the memberid session var emptying. Being in the middle of work, having a page load new data, only to be sent back to the login screen time and time again. Does anyone know how I can fix this issue? Many thanks for your time.

have you confirmed that the session settings you have set are actually in effect, using a phpinfo(); statement in a .php script file?

are you on shared web hosting and are using the common/default shared session.save_path setting? if so, your session data files are in the common /tmp location and the shortest session.gc_maxlifetime setting of all the scripts running on the shared web server is what controls which files are deleted when session garbage collection runs. if this is the case, you need to set your own session.save_path setting so that your session data files are only affected by your session settings.