Undefined Index Error

Archemedees

I realize this is a very common issue and it stems from at least the way I understand it, the code not checking if something is declared before declaring it. That begin said I tried adding isset code to some sections where I was getting errors and they are still errors there so Im totally lost. I am very new to php so if this is a stupid question please treat me like a 5 year old if you would and help me understand my errors :)

The errors are as follows:

Notice: Undefined index: key in /home/mdfehr/public_html/store/catalog/controller/common/cart.php on line 103Notice: Undefined index: recurring in/home/mdfehr/public_html/store/catalog/controller/common/cart.php on line 108

And the Code it pertains to(starts at line 103): 

$data['products'][] = array(
				'key'       => $product['key'],
				'thumb'     => $image,
				'name'      => $product['name'],
				'model'     => $product['model'],
				'option'    => $option_data,
				'recurring' => ($product['recurring'] ? $product['recurring']['name'] : ''),
				'quantity'  => $product['quantity'],
				'price'     => $price,
				'total'     => $total,
				'href'      => $this->url->link('product/product', 'product_id=' . $product['product_id'])
			);
		}

Any suggestions are appreciated. 

the error means an array element is being referenced that doesn't exist.

adding isset() to test if something exists before trying to referenced it is only valid if what is being referenced is optional, i.e. it may or may not be present. this would be the case when testing if a page got requested and a form may or may not have been submitted, a form element may or may not exist (checkboxes, radio buttons), a get parameter in the url may or may not be present, or code didn't find any matching row in a database table and the code didn't take the added step of preventing any follow on code that's dependent on that data from running.