PDO Update Joined tables

jiros1
Go to solution Solved by scootstah,

Thank you for your time.

I'm trying to update a Game in my database, I'm new with PDO.

I can edit the name but I don't know how to change the category. I select it from the table TBL_Category where TBL_Category.ID equals  JTBL_Game_Category.Category_ID.

How do I update it via a dropdown box so my Game's Category is changed?

This is my PHP code:

$Name = $_POST['Name'];
$id = $_POST['ID'];

$sql = "UPDATE TBL_Game
SET Name=?
WHERE id=?";

$statement = $db -> prepare($sql);
$statement -> execute(array($Name, $id));

header("Refresh:0");

My tables:

TBL_Game

ID= 1

Name= Game of thrones 

TBL_Category

ID= 1

Name= Boardgame

JTBL_Game_Category

ID 1

Game_ID= 1

Category_ID= 1

Thanks in advance

post-179839-0-55687500-1444422815_thumb.jpg

Edited by jiros1

• Solution

Your schema is a many-to-many relationship between games and categories, meaning that many games can have many categories. In your screenshot though you just have a dropdown, as if to suggest that any game can only have a single category. If that's the case you can remove the JTBL_Game_Category table and simple add a Category_ID field to your TBL_Game table.

As an aside, I recommend you use named parameters in PDO instead of ?'s. Once you have a bunch of parameters it's a huge pain to keep track of the order of them and such.

$sql = "UPDATE JTBL_Game_Category
SET Category_ID=:newCategoryId
WHERE Game_ID=:gameId AND Category_ID=:categoryId";

$statement -> execute(array(
    'categoryId'    => $categoryId,
    'gameId'        => $gameId,
    'newCategoryId' => $newCategoryId,
));

I recommend you use named parameters in PDO instead of ?'s. Once you have a bunch of parameters it's a huge pain to keep track of the order of them and such.