empty cell in data in columns (display record from database)

sigmahokies
Go to solution Solved by Psycho,

Hi everyone,

I am still learning. I am trying to create the display the record in vertical columns, but set up the vertical columns with order by last name in MySQL is success, but problem that all table cell are empty that I write to display the record, seem MySQL's query did not answer or delivery the record from database. What did I do wrong?

Here my code:

$display = "SELECT ID, FirstName, LastName, MonthEx FROM Members ORDER BY LastName";$result = mysqli_query($Garydb, $display); $data = mysqli_num_rows($result);$row = 1;$col = 2; echo "<table border='1'>";for ($i = 0; $i < $data / $col; $i++) {echo "<tr>";for ($j = 0; $j < $col && $row <= $data; $j++, $row++) {echo "<td>".$data['FirstName']." ".$data['LastName']."</td><td><a href='update.php?update=$data[iD]'>EDIT</a></td><td><a href='delete.php?delete=$data[iD]'>DELETE</a></td>\n";}echo "</tr>";}echo "</table>";

funcation is working, but display the record hasn't come out from MySQL...

Thank you in advance time.

Gary

So, Do i have to change $result from $data, like $result['FirstName']? I did that...it is not showing, still empty in cell in table. Do I have to create 'while' to code with mysqli_fetch_assoc or mysqli_fetch_array instead of 'for'? Please advise me

Thanks

Edited by sigmahokies

With all due respect, your grammar and punctuation is atrocious. I am not a grammar nazi, but what you wrote is very difficult to understand. If you want to get free help, the least you can do is write a clear request. I can't tell if you want the data to go top-down/left-right or left-right/top-down.

Do you want this

1  2
3  4
5  6

Or this

1  4
2  5
3  6