Connecting mysql with a login cms & php

phplearner363

Hi everyone,

I am new to php and mysql. I have taken one course on php and mysql setting up a cms for a website.

I have 2 different questions:

1. How to write code for cms to limit users to only certain tables?

2. How to use php my admin to add users to admin table with only certain privileges. Our admin table has has 3 columns,

id username hashed_password . At this point when we add a new user the password is shown in as plain text with no hashing. The hashing was written in the cms.

Thank you for any help, the hairs you save are mine, as I am about to tear them out.

Peggy

One course on PHP isn't going to cut it for you in this situation. As you've already seen, the CMS handles hashing the passwords, so let it. It probably handles assigning user roles as well. Let it do that, too. It's a content management system specifically so that you don't have to manage the content directly. Let it do it's job, and your hair will stay where it's meant to be a lot longer than otherwise.

This is far, far too vague to give any kind of advice. We're not psychic.

Which CMS are you talking about? And what does “limit users to only certain tables” even mean? Access to data is generally handled within the application, not on a per-table basis.

If you post concrete code/tables and concrete questions, I'm sure somebody will be able to help you. But right now, it's really just gibberish.

Ok, I kinda of figured I was in over my head.

I will try to explain.

First the cms is one that I have written using php, the cms is a generic one for logging in and allowing individuals permissions to edit certain web pages.

I did this because I am unsure of the security of the big ones out there.

So if I continue to write the cms does anyone know how to write php to limit the user at login to edit only specific tables.

I think I can write the mysql to grant certain privileges, not all, to different users.