ModRewrite Cheat Sheet

roopurt18

• 1 year later...

Hi,

I am a small time php programmer. While searching for answers related to some of my queries, I found this link which, I thought will be helpful to my fellow programmers in this family.

This web page has cheat sheets for:

Actionscript,

Ajax,

Apache,

ASCII Character Codes,

CSS,

Django,

Firefox,

Google,

HTML/XHTML,

JavaScript,

MySQL,

Perl,

Photoshop/Gimp,

PHP,

Regular Expressions,

Unix/Linux,

Weblog,

Windows,

XML and more...

The Cheat Sheet Round-Up:

http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2006/10/30/cheat-sheet-round-up-ajax-css-latex-ruby/

• 7 months later...
  • 1 month later...
  • 3 months later...

My favorite Crazy tricks:

Here we are disabling the digital signature that would otherwise identify the server:
# disable the server signature
ServerSignature Off

To increase performance on PHP enabled servers, add the following directive:
# preserve bandwidth for PHP enabled servers
<ifmodule mod_php4.c>
php_value zlib.output_compression 16386
</ifmodule>

# file caching- my favorite!
ExpiresActive On
ExpiresDefault A604800 # 1 week
ExpiresByType image/x-icon A2419200 # 1 month
ExpiresByType application/x-javascript A2419200 # 1 month
ExpiresByType text/css A2419200 # 1 month
ExpiresByType text/html A300 # 5 minutes
# disable caching for scripts and other dynamic files
<FilesMatch "\.(pl|php|cgi|spl|scgi|fcgi)$">
ExpiresActive Off
</FilesMatch>

# disable directory browsing - no more index.php in every friggin directory
Options All -Indexes

This bit of voodoo will auto-correct simple spelling errors in the URL:
# automatically corect simple speling erors
<IfModule mod_speling.c>
CheckSpelling On
</IfModule>

# instruct browser to download multimedia files
AddType application/octet-stream .avi
AddType application/octet-stream .mpg
AddType application/octet-stream .wmv
AddType application/octet-stream .mp3

• 1 month later...
  • 2 weeks later...

htaccess rules