is there a function for this?

missparx

I'm new to php(and to SQL), at work I am working on a web page(html/php)  that is dealing w/ a Postgres SQL database(obviously why I'm in this section)

and I was wondering if there was a function (or a query) that allows me to assign variables to values within a table....

I started some code but got a little lost...

I started with this... (not sure if it is usable at all)

$select_variable = pg_query($conn, "SELECT blah blah blah FROM tablename WHERE id="$id_request");

but all of the php functions i can find are booleans.... is there any function that I can assign a variable to what I selected???

because I need to display those variables to the page.

I hope this isnt a completely ridiculous question lol  :)

I'm a little confused by your question, but I think you are looking for something like this:

$pg_res = pg_query($conn, "SELECT blah blah blah FROM tablename WHERE id="$id_request");
while ($row = pg_fetch_assoc($pg_res)) {
  var_dump($row);
}

var_dump() gives you a view of what's inside that $row variable.  Instead you can fetch individual columns by accessing $row['column_name']

ok so the link helped a lot....

although i keep running into problems (the story of my life)....

im trying to select the values from a specific id value in a psql table....

the table is as such

id serial

service varchar(10)

description varchar(200)

starttime timestamp(0)

and such.....

i keep getting errors when i try to display only one row containing a specific id number

right now i have....

$id_request = pg_fetch_assoc(pg_query($conn, "SELECT nextval('servicestatus_id_seq')"));

$result_service = pg_query("SELECT * FROM servicestatus  WHERE id='$id_request'");

while($line = pg_fetch_array($result_service, null))

{

foreach($line as $col_value)

{

echo "$col_value \n";                <------ i'm aware i'm displaying too much kinda trying to fix that

}

}