Decrypting encrypted PHP...

jyeager

In good faith, I hired a foreign programmer to write some PHP for me, and the original deal was "no encrypted files" so that I could edit bad wording and phrase turns. This guy's english isn't very good.

Anyhow, half the files he sent me are encrypted after all, but since he already got paid, he isn't returning emails anymore. I can't use this stuff with the shoddy english.

My question is... though I'm no programming expert, since the server seems to know what to do with the encrypted PHP files without any 3rd party accessories, it's probably a very common encryption method... one that could be de-crypted pretty easily.

Here's what the stuff looks like when opened by a text editor :

<?php $_F=__FILE__;$_X='Pz48P3BocA0KJGNoMW5nNV9wMXNzXzVycjJy [snip]
0KPz4=';eval(base64_decode('JF9YPWJhc2U2NF9kZWNvZ [snip]
=='));?>

Note the "eval(base64_decode"

There are 7 or 8 files like this, with the average file about 1500 chrs long.

Someone in another forum recommended I use the following link to decode :
[a href=\"http://www.opinionatedgeek.com/dotnet/tools/Base64Decode/\" target=\"_blank\"]http://www.opinionatedgeek.com/dotnet/tools/Base64Decode/[/a]

But this generated a "Invalid character in a Base-64 string." error.

Someone else recommended I replace "eval" by "print" or "echo" and view in a browser. Tried both, and both produce garbage.

Note that this code is fully functional. It does what it's supposed to do, even encrypted. I'm only looking to correct the english in these encrypted files.

Anyone know how I can get this stuff decrypted?

Thanks.

Taking a part of that and decoding it comes out as below... can't really be of any further help, i'm not too hot on encryption. I've never seen much point to it.

Pz48P3BocA0KJGNoMW5nNV9wMXNzXzVycjJy

is decoded as:

?><?php
$ch1ng5_p1ss_5rr2r

I would find out what program he used to encrypt the files.
This looks like source cop or sourceguardian.