$_REQUEST Problem

fixxxer

Im new to php and have been been building a mock CMS to try out what ive learnt. In the book i was learning from it said that using $_REQUEST i could get SESSION, GET and POST variables using $_REQUEST, but when i use the $_REQUEST['variable'] the variable is never there while if i use $_SESSION['variable'] the variable is fine. in this case the variable was a session but i also wanted to be able to set from POST as well
Has the use of $_REQUEST changed since the book im working from was published or am i doing something wrong, ive looked on the net but cant seem to find anything.

If anyone can help. Thanks.

[!--quoteo(post=376650:date=May 24 2006, 08:10 AM:name=eves)--][div class=\'quotetop\']QUOTE(eves @ May 24 2006, 08:10 AM) [snapback]376650[/snapback][/div][div class=\'quotemain\'][!--quotec--]
check the manual:
[a href=\"http://www.php.net/manual/en/reserved.variables.php#reserved.variables.server\" target=\"_blank\"]http://www.php.net/manual/en/reserved.vari...ariables.server[/a]
[/quote]

thanks, but i had read it before and to be honest wasn't quite sure on what it meant. According to that it means that using $_SESSON['variable'] or $_REQUEST['variable'] should have the same affect is that correct?

e.g

in my script i set $_SESSION['game_id'] = 4 //or whatever game is

then when i come to retrieve that on my next page if my select it using $_SESSION['game_id'] its fine but if i select it using $_REQUEST['game_id'] the number isn't there. Can anybody explain why this occurs. could it have anything to do with my php server settings? Again any help would be appreciated, if it does make a difference im using XAMPP.

its just annoying cos i wanted the game id to be mainly set by a session vaiable but i also wanted to be able to set it using $_GET

thanks