PHP OOP Rant / Good PHP IDE

JustinK101

Hello all,

Firstly, let me say I have been programming web applications using php/mysql for about three years now. PHP is a great language, though I honestly can't see how in the world they can call it Object Oriented.

[b]Example number one:[/b]
Almost every freaken method takes parameters variables which the method is acting on. Really makes it confusing and honestly ugly. Examples:

substr($string, 0, 1);
array_push($array, $value);

Is it me, or if PHP were OO shouldnt it be: $string->substr(0,1); and $array->push($value);

By the way, what's up with the ->, how about sticking with the dot like every other decent language.

[b]Example number two:[/b]
Classes in php are just plain ugly. When you instanciate a new object like so, this is outside of any function:

$languageObject = new language();

Ok that's all fine and dandy, but if you want to use $languageObject in any methods/functions you have to define it global in the method. Hello, is it me, or is that repetitive as hell. I defined the object globally for a reason, and not in a function.

[b]Example number three:[/b]
Ugly construction of classes. You have to call member variables var. Umm inst that implied, again not sure why. No ability to have constructor overloading. Wow, inst that a major componet of OO languages, overloaded functions.

PHP is solid, though I recently came across M$ Studio 2005 using ASP and C# and I must admit I really like design time interface and C# as a language dominates PHP. C# is very eligant and supports GET and SET methods which are very nice. C# is truely a OOP language.

The point of my rant, I find myself coding everything by hand, there must be a better resource. A good IDE that does HTML and PHP, and does syntax highlighting and supports the M$ equal of inti-sense. I just think it takes too long to do things in PHP by hand, I really want a GUI design tool that is effective. Oh by the way Dreamwaver doesnt count.