Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

gish

textfile radiobuttons

It is official I am going nuts
I am a beginner i php5. I got on the net and down loaded a lot of information. after reading the info. I decided to start
forms. That easy enough. I can email it myself without a problem. The I decided that I would write to a text file on the
apache2 server. I found some code of the net and that was easy enough. if you are writing text. put for three months I have
been trying to get this php code to write its self to a text file on the server. I am sure at it is very easy.

In the <head> I have been trying to get the variable $question to change value and then write and I cannot do it
please can anyone help. Or even a tut that will break it down step by step

P.s. the next step for me I though was Mysql but i have been reading that mysql would be adquate for a beginner is this true
does anyone have an opinion.

Sorry P.S
Is there a newsletter I can subscribe to for beginners in php

<html>
<head>

<title>Sample</title>
</head>
<body>
<FORM method="POST" action="<?php echo $_SERVER['PHP_SELF']?>">

<?php
echo '<input type="radio" name="gender" value= $Question1 = "1" checked />1 unsure<br>';
echo '<input type="radio" name="gender" value= $Question1 = "2" />2 Thats true<br>';
echo '<input type="radio" name="gender" value= $Question1 = "3" />3 I never thought<br>';
echo '<input type="radio" name="gender" value= $Question1 = "4" />4 Nice one<br>';
?>
<INPUT TYPE="SUBMIT" value="Send data">

</body>
</html>

I can't understand what is your problem. You don't need the $Question1 variable in there. Besides, the string is enclosed by single quotes, so it's not interpolated what means $Question1 would actually do nothing.

Also, there is no such thing in HTML like value= something = "1".

Simply value="1" is enough, assuming you just want to know the user's choice.