Absolute Newbie -- what to do with PHP website?

Hello All,

I am a novice programmer and completely new to PHP.  My friend had a website built for him by some contractors a while ago, and is now looking to make some modifications to that site.  He has the active code, which he gave to me, but I am unsure how to load this project into _any_ IDE and work with it.  he gave me a folder with the following layout:

www/  (i think this is the entire Apache folder)

- cgi-bin/

- error/

- html/  (and this should be where all the PHP lives)

- _configuration/

- configuration.inc.php

- configuration_pro.inc.php

- configuration.sample.inc.php

- database/

- definitions/

- _files/

- index.html

- _logs/

- wwwroot/

- about_us.php

- about_us.tpl.php

- admin/

- assets/

- captcha/

- cart/

- _devtools/

- codegen.php

- codegen_settings.xml

- _README.txt

- doc/

- drafts/

- dtrMostDocs.tpl.php

- dtrRequests.tpl.php

- footer.inc.php

- forgot_password/

- header.inc.php

- includes/

- IndexForm.class.php

- index.php

- index.tpl.php

- icons/

- manual/

- usage/

/www/html/wwwroot/_devtools/_README.txt:

This directory contains the web-based drivers for Qcodo's development tools:

* codegen.php - the Qcodo CodeGen web-based driver.  It uses the QCodeGen and

related Qcodo codegen libraries to do the bulk of the work.  The index.php

file simply instantiates a QCodeGen object, executes the various public

methods on it to do the code generation, and creates a report of its

activities in a nicely formatted HTML page.  It uses the codegen_settings.xml

file as the "settings" to use for codegenning.

* (future tools tba)

Feel free to alter the settings, inputs and/or outputs of any of the drivers

as you wish.