#1 psquillace

psquillace
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 94 posts

Posted 16 June 2006 - 03:10 PM

Hello All:
I have been teaching myself php now for a little over 3 months and am stuck on arrays. I came across the \n variable and what it does for me.

I know that is represents a line break but how is that different than just <br />

whats more when I am writing an array all I do is use a ,comma and hit return to go to the next line.

Can someone clear up my head on all this as I am going bonkers. [img src=\"style_emoticons/[#EMO_DIR#]/unsure.gif\" style=\"vertical-align:middle\" emoid=\":unsure:\" border=\"0\" alt=\"unsure.gif\" /]

thanks

Paul

#2 redarrow

redarrow
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 7,308 posts
  • Locationlondon

Posted 16 June 2006 - 03:23 PM

[!--quoteo(post=384588:date=Jun 16 2006, 03:10 PM:name=Paul Squillace)--][div class=\'quotetop\']QUOTE(Paul Squillace @ Jun 16 2006, 03:10 PM) View Post[/div][div class=\'quotemain\'][!--quotec--]
Hello All:
I have been teaching myself php now for a little over 3 months and am stuck on arrays. I came across the \n variable and what it does for me.

I know that is represents a line break but how is that different than just <br />

whats more when I am writing an array all I do is use a ,comma and hit return to go to the next line.

Can someone clear up my head on all this as I am going bonkers. [img src=\"style_emoticons/[#EMO_DIR#]/unsure.gif\" style=\"vertical-align:middle\" emoid=\":unsure:\" border=\"0\" alt=\"unsure.gif\" /]

thanks

Paul
[/quote]

\n line brake is used to get a new line example.

echo "My name is:\n john";

result
my name is
john

The same as <br> but brake has no ecaping\

echo " my name is:<br>john";

result
my name is:
john

heres my code that i learned arrays

example 1
<?

$lucky=array("food","dog","home","foot","pool","leg","body","head","teth","ear");  
for($i=0; $i<count($lucky); $i++){
echo "<br>$lucky[$i]<br>normal array";
}

?>

<?