help

kriffer

im new to php, im just learnin this and css .. i tried to do somethig which i thought was simple but am having a problem with... ok heres the problem.. im makin a menu.. but the files arent coming up on the page when you click on the link so this is my menu
[code]<div id="navcontainer">
<ul id="navlist">
<li id="active"><a href="?" id="current">Home</a></li>
<li><a href="forums">Forums</a></li>
<li><a href="?x=servers">Servers</a></li>
<li><a href="?x=matches">Matches</a></li>
<li><a href="?x=about_us">About Us</a></li>
</ul>
</div>[/code]
and this is the php in my page
[code]<?php
if($x=="" ){include"home.php";}
else{include"$x.php";}
?>[/code]
so now when i want to goto the Servers page or the Matches page, it just displays it in the url like this
[code]http://www.kriffer.biz/beta/?x=servers[/code]
so whats the problem?

ok that worked. yess. but now take for example this site.... www.mwnx.net click on either downloads or network it doesnt matter. look at the url... it doesnt include like index.php or downloads.php like , now that i just inserted the page it shows up like this sites url with index.php?showtopic=96453

ok goto www.kriffer.biz/beta .... ok the whole point of [code]<?php
if($x=="" ){include"home.php";}
else{include"$x.php";}
?>[/code] this was to keep the banner and footer not change at all.. and only that content the "include' i.e. include"home.php"; change only that data.. so if you clicked on servers or something else on that menu.. it will go and display the data.. right now it just links to the files i just want it to change the inside data the content that says servers. or matches. or about us. or whatever..

okay so let's say you have an index.php and it has 3 sections:

example index.php
[code]
<html>
<head></head>
<body>

<!-- header content: let's put your links here, as an example -->
<div>
   <a href = 'index.php?x=home'>home</a> |  
   <a href = 'index.php?x=forum'>forum</a> |
   <a href = 'index.php?x=contact'>contact</a>