[SOLVED] how to $_POST back to an object created by an object?

xtopolis

I am new to OOP:

Subject info:

I have 1 class that extends another (Client extends User), which handles user login/authentication  ( I will also have another class, Admin extends User).  Upon trying to login, Client checks a database to see if their username exists, from there if found, it checks if there is a column set requiring the user to change their password(before being allowed in).  If this is set ,they will be presented with a form requiring their current password, new password, and confirm new password input(s).  [This form can only be accessed from trying to login, (checks a session var being set)]

Anyway, I can create this separately, but I want to make this "change password process" a class (so that I can use it for Client or Admin, which use different database tables).

Question:

My first inclination is to create a class called RCPW, and call it from inside Client, at the step where it determines the user needs to change their password.  And I would want to pass it a instance of User(either Client or Admin)  Such as:

<?php
$client = new Client();
//inside class User
if ($row['rcpw'] == 1){
$rcpw = new RCPW($client);
}
?>

And so from there, RCPW would take the User object's $this->username and hardset the form for trying to change the password, then output the form for the user to fill in...  But where/how would I post it back, so that RCPW could validate it (such as, curpass is correct, new pws match, not too many failed attempts have been tried on the form)?

Or am I going about this in the wrong way?  Please let me know if I need to clarify/post code/be clearer.

Here is some code:

a form is posted from index.php -> login.php

(config.php holds a database object, $db)

login.php

<?php
  require 'engine/config.php';

//if logout is set, set logout parameter
  if(isset($_GET['do']) && $_GET['do'] == 'logout'){
    $client = new Client($db,'USERS',SECRET,DOCROOT,true);
  }