Website Design - Feedback Welcome

ILMV

Hello All!

Let me explain, I am a web developer, I am not a major designer. I personally like the new design of my site, but, I would like to be torn apart with your advice :D

My site is www.meltdowntech.com, literally any feedback is very much welcome.

More info

The CSS coding structure is based on that used at styleshout.com, mainly as its easy to read. Apart from the icons, all pictures were taken by myself (amateur photographer), including the ethernet cable for the header.

The site (when I last checked) is valid XHTML+CSS, but, the images have not yet been 100% optimised.

but, the images have not yet been 100% optimised.

Not sure if you are aware of smushit.it! This is a Yahoo developer free tool that compresses images more than other apps tend to..(I added this info in the resources page.. it explains what you need to run it) Definitely worth looking into.. does all that it advertises. Site wide, I managed to shave off an additional 147k from what I thought was pretty optimized images to begin with (as I used 'Save For Web' in Photoshop).

In any case, hope that helps out.

Cheers,

NRG

It's an nice, clean looking website.  I'm diggin the ethernet cable as a content separator.  I don't particularly like a white content area on top of a white background.  I'm not a big fan of pink but it seems to work pretty well with the blue. There's not a whole lot to critique so I'll just say overall looks pretty good.

Wow thank you all very much!

I will certainly take a look at that optimisation link, thanks for pointing it out.

It took me a while to figure this design out, simplicity is the name of the game. The ethernet cable was shot for an earlier design that looked pants, so I used it on this and it seems to work well.