Godaddy MySQL Problems

advancedfuture

Okay so here is the situation. I keep getting generic runaround answers from godaddy and it is extremely frustrating.

So I am a web developer, and I designed a site for a customer in PHP5 and MySQL4.1 and everything was working perfect on my godaddy account. I transferred the files and database over to my clients godaddy account and the setup is exactly the same. However the database is jacked up! I have tried creating several databases all with the same problem.

The query I am running against the database is

SELECT DISTINCT city FROM `zip_code` WHERE state_name='$state' ORDER BY city ASC

works fine on my account.

However the page displays: Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock' (2)

The connection works no problem, or DIE is not executing on the mysql connection. To further add to the problem when I try to run that query on the database itself through phpmyadmin I get an error saying "the table does not exist"... Well thats funny, it does exist, and in fact it has 89k records in it!

Why would this work no problems on my account, but on my clients account it doesnt? Godaddy support is a joke BTW, its all canned responses that dont answer your questions at all.

The error you are recieving can usually be avoided by using 127.0.0.1 as the host instead of localhost if it is indeed localhost you are using. The issue however could be any number of things. /var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock not existing on the server or having the wrong permissions to name a few.

yeah unforunately its godaddy shared hosting and its not running on localhost. I am using the connection string they gave me in the toolbar, but who knows whats going on. Even godaddy doesnt know whats going on which is really lame.

Im wondering if I can point the domain to my shared hosting account because they dont allow remote database connections unfortunately.