Should I use Drupal for this or use ZendFramework?

extrovertive

Hello,

I am an intermediate PHP 5 programmer and know basic User-interface/graphics design (able to create a basic CSS/XHTML from scratch).

Well, I want to be able to create a custom user registration/login, personalization, profile management, groups, and group blog site mainly to share photos they took from their digital camera.

- User can register on the site and have access to upload their photos (tagging it) and either share it in their group (private or public access).

- Private or public access to their photo gallery -- is there a free mod for this for Drupal?

- They can also download widgets (special members only). The widgets are already built, but only certain users can download it.

- News article system for admin to post.

Now, I have created the design (CSS, HTML, and images) and an idea on what functionalities I need. The problem? I just downloaded Drupal 6, started reading tutorials and some books, and was wondering how long would it take to built a custom web application like my requirements? At the same time, how long would it take to convert my custom web design to fit within the Drupal domain?

I have a 3-6 weeks to complete this -- my goal:

-- Read the book "Pro Drupal Development" - spent 3 weeks on it.

-- Spend 1 week transforming my pre-built design to the Drupal template system

-- Spend 2 weeks building the requirements in PHP (registration/login, personalization, profile customization, widgets sharing, blogs, forums, private/public image gallery). However, are there mods on how to do this easier and have it been custom built/design???

Thus, 6 weeks total.

I plan to work lots of hours, moonlight, and even weekends reading my Drupal book.

To get an idea of the finished product, go to:

http://www.fastcompany.com -- that's an idea of the features and design I want to built from scratch.