• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 ssnavely76

ssnavely76
  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 06 July 2006 - 05:03 AM

I know this might be a normal question, but its driving me crazy. I'm just learning and doing an exercise on pulling data from a .txt file. Unfortunately I cannot seem to find the problem. When I upload the script it's coming up blank instead of the content. I will try to give you as much detail as possible.

1.  I created a php file called (fileContent2.php) with the following code
http://www.onlinedoc...ileContent2.php
<html>
<head>
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>

<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF">
<?php

$file = 'fileRead.txt';
$fh = fopen('$file', 'r') or die('Unable to read content!');
$data = fread($fh, filesize($file)) or die('Unable to read content!');
fclose($fh);
echo $data;

?>
</body>
</html>

2. I created my .txt file
http://www.onlinedoc...nt/fileRead.txt

3. Uploaded them to my godaddy account

4. I get nothing

Can anyone help? PLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

#2 .josh

.josh
  • Staff Alumni
  • .josh
  • 14,871 posts

Posted 06 July 2006 - 05:12 AM

you have single quotes around $file this enterprets $file literally so it's trying to open a file called $file not fileread.txt  you should either use double quotes " " or no quotes at all
Did I help you? Feeling generous? Buy me lunch!