Recompiling PHP - Fedora 4

Hi All,

I have a new server with a fresh install of Fedora Core 4. I need the use of mysql extensions but the original php build has been compiled with these extensions off.

I understand that I need to recompile php on the server but am having problems finding information on this on the web.

I do of course have the instalation instructions for php but am unsure of what I need to do in preparation.

Can anyone give me a quick step by step, I'm not sure if I have the binaries either. I have some knowledge of Linux environments but am by no means an expert.

TIA

if you're not too fond of doing it manually, i believe FC has  a program called "Frog"? Or you can even use yum I believe.
That way you can do it via a GUI...although you would learn more if you did it by hand in which case you would find this thread very useful:
[url=http://www.phpfreaks.com/forums/index.php/topic,95378.0.html]Call To Undefinded Function mysql_connect[/url]

as far as i know, yum is CLI. sorry I forgot to mention that in my previous post.

You should have tried google :)
[url=http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mjm-php4-fc4.html]PHP4 on Fedora Core 4[/url]
[url=http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_core_4_installation_notes.html#Yum]Fedora Core 4 Linux Installation Notes: Yum[/url]

some of those steps require super user permissions...but if you have the ability to edit ~/.bashrc you should be able to install all these programs in your home directory where you should have absolute access.
Section 1.2 should help you on [url=http://wiki.housni.org/index.php?title=Compiling_and_Installing_Vim_7.0_per_user_on_%2Anix&mwiki_session=fad89bb61c0e7345d6f96cae2637ac10#Set_up_the_environment]my wiki[/url]

but really, you would save yourself some time if you attempted the suggestions in the link i posted previously. or maybe you already attempted them, but you haven't told me if you have and my jedi powers haven't developed to a level where i can read minds...yet :)

Hi,