info from mysql displaying ? instead of '

DapperDanMan

I have no idea what is going on. the information stored in the mysql database displays correctly within the database:

mysql example - “Give th’ man a drink, Belk.

However, when it is called from a php file it displays as follows:

�Give th� man a drink, Belk.

I really am stumped why it cannot pull the text from the database and display it properly. Can anyone enlighten me why it is doing this to the quotes and apostrophes?

I've always used latin_general_ci too and I don't know of any problems with collation so I doubt that's the problem.
I had this problem with a Firebird database and ended up str_Replace 'ing stuff because it wasn't worth figuring out at the time.

I'm no expert on encoding so maybe looking into converting to UTF-8 again or ISO-8859-1 might do something.

Okay, after some more research (and banging head against the wall) I discovered that the text I am copying has "fancy" quotes and apostrophes. So I tried the other post about htmlentities, but no luck. It didn't change the quotes, just showed the line breaks.
So here is the problem, the text I am pulling from is actually of a website and the quotes slant inward. If I change them to the standard quotes that are absolutely vertical, it works fine. See the above example for the style of quotes.
Does anyone have any clue why it works on another website, but I cannot pull them from the database?

Well, I have a workaround right now. I am using a str_replace() when inserting the text into the database:
$pattern = array("“", "’");
$replacement = array("\"", "\'");
$synop = str_replace($pattern, $replacement, $synopsis);

I then use a stripslashes() when I call the information from the database. It isn't the best way I know, but it does work. I would still like to figure out why it is causing problems in the first place and correct it, so if anyone knows, I would really appreciate the help.

Thank you