Uses of urlencode() and urldecode()

nloding

Alright, so I am completely new at programming in PHP.  I've done tons of CSS and HTML before, and a tiny bit of a Javascript.  Now I want to start building larger sites based off databases, and need some help with PHP.  This should be relatively easy (I hope!)

Basically, here's what I want to setup: a database that has, say, an image and a dateline, and I want a single PHP file to bring it up and display it via urldecode() ...

http://domain.com/images.php?title=amazon

images.php would be one page, and then you click a picture, and it reloads the page, showing the picture and it's description.

This is popular everywhere.  I downloaded some open source code to programs like Joomla, Typo3, Phorum, and others, and I can't find a clean example I can completely comprehend.

Is there a tutorial out there about this?  Where would I begin in designing this site (assuming the database is complete)?  Are there any clean examples out there that I can study?

THANKS!

Great information on this site -- I'll be spending a lot of time here as I learn more and more PHP ...

--Nathan

As an addition, I mean this as something a search engine, rather than displaying a completely new page.  The idea is that the page has a set layout, and certain parts, such as the img url, are filled in from the accessed mySQL database.  I'm looking for an example of that.

i think what your asking is a ajax enstention of javascipt.

if you wanted to do this with php then your have a picture with a link going to another page showing that picture and the information.

but to have a picture to be pressed then the information displayed auomatickly on the same page your have to use ajax ok.

good luck.

First off, presuming you don't know, urlencode and urldecode only convert unsafe characters to safe ones for building a URL, they don't do any file transfers etc.