Event display

Nimbuz

Hello,

I'm an absolute beginner in PHP (while expert in html/css) who just started learning basics through video tutorials and ebooks. Now that I know the php syntax, I'm looking to develop (or use an existing script if available) a very very simple event display script.

I want to store events with their "Name" "Location" and "Date" in either mysql or a txt file (preferable) and display its contents on a page, but I also want to do is cross-through passed events (could be done by giving them a css class eg. "event-passed").

I have no clue how to start. I'd greatly appreciate if you someone write the basic code for me that I can then modify for my use.

Many thanks.

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

probably will be your only constructive post here..

This isn't for script requests, although you may see us write scripts for people, we write scripts to correct already written code or to help correct a problem with already written code.

I'm not trying to come off like a prick, but most of us spend alot of time on this forum and like helping people, and thats what we intend to do, HELP, but give out.

I know this is a help request though but many people will most likely disregard this after you have "someone write the basic code for me" in the thread..

unless maybe I'm speaking for myself ofcourse, however, unlikely.

I can however point you in the right direction, then when you have some established code we can try to help you with errors you encounter.

I recommend you use mysql (#1), you can get the date using date, although for databases you should use the timestamp, that way you can code with it (all languages are more mathematical than anything else).

to check for past events, you would use an if statement and compare time with the timestamp in the database, "if timestamp less than time THEN its older OTHERWISE (else) its new"

this is actually pretty simple..