To $_SESSION or not to $_SESSION?

athmpsn

I am designing a backend to a website where user profiles play a major role. Rather than have hundreds of users on at once making queries to the database everytime they view their or another member's profile, I thought of storing all of the information in $_SESSION variables when they first log in. These variables could then be updated and refreshed should they edit any of their profile information.

Are there any downsides to doing it this way? This is my first time creating a backend that has to take heavy traffic into account so I am fairly concerned about reducing the strain. Are there any other possible methods, tips or tricks I could use when it comes to this?

Thank you in advance for any help or suggestions you can offer!

Alex T

The best advice for reducing strain on a database is: Write intelligent SQL, and minimize the number of querys you perform. eg: don't update the users table every time you change a value for a user. Update all a users values at the end of a script, with 1 query.

Don't nest select statements in loops. (if you must, write the query string with a loop, then perform a single query)

Pretty much the really simple obvius stuff =)

if your expecing lots of changes to a users profile, then definately use the database, but if your not expecting much, use cookies, then the strain is on their computer.  you could simply update the script when a user logs out (tell them that any changes will not be saved unless they logout properly (not just close the browser))

Thanks for the help guys. Even the simple tips can help remind you to go about your coding the right way  ;)