MySQL Generalization/Specialization

jc2006

Hi,

I am new to MySQL.  I was wondering if using generalization/specialization hierachies are recommended for MyISAM tables in MySQL.  I understand that there is no recursion in MySQL which would be nice to have for parent/child relationships.  Also, since I am using MyISAM tables, concurrency would at times involve locking a parent and some of its children (locking many tables vs. locking a single table when hierarchies are not used). Would it be better to not use hierarchies?

Thanks.  Any help is very much appreciated. 

Thanks for the response.  What about the locking of parent and children tables?  Because parent AND children tables can be locked during certain concurrency situations, wouldn't it be more efficient to avoid hierarchies (so that only one table will be locked)? 

Thanks

Well, depending on how you store the data, you can have it all in a single table to begin with.  And I'm not sure what you're referring to by locking in the MyISAM situation -- these are non-blocking in the general case.  Please clarify.

Hi

MyISAM involves table locking as opposed to row locking for InnoDB.

I was speaking of an instance such as this:

TABLE books --- Parent table
    bookID
    bookName
    bookDescription

Table automotiveBooks --- Child Table
    typeOfCar
    carCompanyName
    dealershipsNamed

Table childrenBooks  --- ChildTable
    ageGroup
    cartoonCharactersUsed