OOP Databases Singletons and Registries

I've been doing PHP for over 4 years now - but only lately (last 12 months) been starting to write it as OOP.  I came to the conclusion this week that my code cannot be performing efficiently at all and I've tried to research how to do it better.

Various people mention registries and singletons - but i've no idea what these are - even after reading about them!  I don't quite understand how they work - but I think I understand their purpose - and I think their purpose is exactly what I want.

I _think_ that a database class as a singleton gives an application a single point of call to a database, and drastically reduces the amount of connections.

currently my db access in oop goes a little like this:

class db{} //this has the mysqli->connect statement and thats all

class user($db){}

//construct sets $this->db = $db;

//this has lots of queries that take place in this class e.g.

$db_query = $this->db->mysqli->query("select * from "); //only a dummy query!!

I have several class like user each one passing in the $db, and putting queries onto it.  In my head that seems like a lot of memory is being used - especially as there are usually 3 or 4 classes - as well as the DB class being used on each page - I think that might result in 4 statements of $this->db = $db;

this surely can't be right and singletons / registries sound like what i need.

can anybody explain to me a) what a singleton is b) what a registry is and c) how to effectively implement them via short code sample so I can an idea.  I've seen people writing "getInstance()" functions - again I've no idea what they are so if that can be summarised too I'd be an extremely happy person!

A singleton is an object with two primary characteristics:

1. It's a global

2. Only one instance of that particular singleton can exist at any one time