3 replies to this topic

#1 bwaxse

bwaxse
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • LocationFort Worth Texas

Posted 29 July 2006 - 09:50 PM

Alright so im pretty new to php and sql - I know theres an easier way to do this:

I have Class IDs set in the Users Table and I want to get the Class Names by referencing the Classes table.
The if statements - If a user has a class entered in, look up that ID and set the $_SESSION[CLASS#] equal to that name.

<?php
                        if ($_SESSION['CLASS1'] != "0"){
        $query2 = "SELECT sClassName FROM tbl_classes WHERE sClassID ='".$_SESSION['CLASS1']."'";
        $result2 = mysql_query($query2) or die("Invalid query: " . mysql_error());
        $row2 = mysql_fetch_assoc($result2);

$_SESSION['CLASS1'] = $row2['sClassName'];}

if ($_SESSION['CLASS2'] != "0"){
        $query3 = "SELECT sClassName FROM tbl_classes WHERE sClassID ='".$_SESSION['CLASS2']."'";
        $result3 = mysql_query($query3) or die("Invalid query: " . mysql_error());
        $row3 = mysql_fetch_assoc($result3);

$_SESSION['CLASS2'] = $row3['sClassName'];}
X4 More times
?>
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction." -AE

#2 fenway

fenway
  • Staff Alumni
  • MySQL Si-Fu / PHP Resident Alien
  • 16,199 posts
  • LocationToronto, ON

Posted 29 July 2006 - 09:51 PM

An IN clause would be most appropriate:

"SELECT sClassName FROM tbl_classes WHERE sClassID IN ('".$_SESSION['CLASS1']."','".$_SESSION['CLASS2']."','".$_SESSION['CLASS3']."') ";

Seriously... if people don't start reading this before posting, I'm going to consider not answering at all.

#3 bwaxse

bwaxse
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • LocationFort Worth Texas

Posted 30 July 2006 - 03:40 AM

Thanks a bunch, I used:
$sql = "SELECT * FROM tbl_classes WHERE sClassID = '".$_SESSION['CLASS1']."'||'".$_SESSION['CLASS2']."'||'".$_SESSION['CLASS3']."'