challenge: force download of a remote file and without readfile()

upuaut

Hi All,
I'm new to php. Convinced of its performance advantage over perl, I decided to use it for my client's project.

Background: the client outsourced the entire project to run on our website, with the media files hosted on other servers (initially one, potentially many if bandwidth demand dictates)

on our website: the html pages, database storage, application code (php)

What it is: the client offers DRM protected media files (copyrighted songs and lectures) for download. We are to track usage and dynamically generate download links for the media files from one/many servers publically available. We are not interested in protecting the paths to the download media files, and actually encourage direct links to downloads.

the challenge: the files are in WMA/WMV format. When a user clicks on a link, they are to be prompted to save the file via "save/save as" dialog box, ie, force download , where the user gets prompted to the save dialog box in IE and firefox (and hopefully all browsers). Windows Media Player should not handle the download request.

My findings: I could use the header() function and set content-type to application/unknown, among setting other header info. And I'd need to use the readfile().

the questions:
1- Say the client's server's pipe throughput is 6Mbps, and our server (where code is running), is a max of 1.5Mbps. Would that mean that the max speed a user gets when downloading is 1.5? ie, would our server be a bottleneck?

2- Technically, when readfile() is executed on our server, is it actually reading the remote file then piping the data to the end user?, ie, the file goes through like this remote_server -> our_server -> user's browser? My guess is yes, but would like to confirm with gurus.

3- Is there a way in php to simply serve the proper headers (to force download), then connect the user's browser to the download link (a public file) and leave the rest to http?