index.html vs index.php

portia

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie when it comes to php. I've been playing with it for the last 2 weeks. Which one is recommended as a root document: index.php or index.html (with pieces of php code embedded inside). When would you use which one?

thanks

I think his asking, if you went to a folder that has a index.php and a index.html in it and you just went to that folder (not the file) which one would load by default..

Well that does depend on how apache was configured, best bet is just to try it

if your asking is it better to have a index.php or index.html then I always create index.php as it allows me to add code without worrying about if i have a link pointing to index.html

Thanks guys,

I know how to configure apache to read .php or .html. My question was which one you normally use as the index.

It really doesn't matter one way or another. But, you will find that almost no servers are configured to read php in an .html document. You need to configure it yourself to be able to do that.

Doesn't mind to me, mine reads both index.html (with php inside) or index.php. So you're saying that either way is ok.

if your asking is it better to have a index.php or index.html then I always create index.php as it allows me to add code without worrying about if i have a link pointing to index.html

due to the above mentioned reason, you seem to prefer index.php, are there any disadvantages of it?

thanks guys.

I've started learning php and want to develop good habits right from the beginning. Hence, my elementary questions)

Remember to include something like the below in the top of the script, to prevent having the same content indexed on both the index.php file, as well as the domain it self.

if ($_SERVER['REQUEST_URI'] == '/index.php') {
  header('HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found');
  include_once '404.php';
  /* mysql_close($Connection); // include if you use MySQL */
  exit();
}

Sample 404 page:

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html lang="en">

<head>