Building a PHP Search with MySQL - script advice needed

CountryGirl

Hi all,

I am building my first PHP search database with MySQL. I have all the data entered in the correct tables (16 tables) in PHPMyAdmin/MySQL. Now I need to be able to build a search feature on my website and make it searchable. Does anyone have any suggestions on good sites that would explain some of how to do this? I'm pretty new to writing PHP and such and am not exactly sure where to start! The MySQL database tables I have figured out, it's just some of the specifics like putting the actual search and such onto the webpage.

Thanks for any and all tips :)!

Qadoshyah

Country Girl Designs

I have a question off of reading the Simple SQL Search Tutorial. It makes sense for the most part, but I still have this one question.

At the part of the code below . . . am I supposed to put my information on there? Like where it says ""SELECT sid, sbody, stitle, sdescription" should that be where the information I need goes. Like it should say "SELECT name, address, account number." Or, should those places be the name of the tables in the database that the information will be pulled out of? I hope my question make sense :)!

If there are no errors, lets get the search going.

if (count($error) < 1) {

$searchSQL = "SELECT sid, sbody, stitle, sdescription FROM simple_search WHERE ";

// grab the search types.

$types = array();

$types[] = isset($_GET['body'])?"`sbody` LIKE '%{$searchTermDB}%'":'';

$types[] = isset($_GET['title'])?"`stitle` LIKE '%{$searchTermDB}%'":'';

$types[] = isset($_GET['desc'])?"`sdescription` LIKE '%{$searchTermDB}%'":'';

Thanks!!

Qadoshyah

sid, sbody, stitle, sdescription are examples of column names in table, so if your column are 'name','address','account number' (don't use spaces in column names BTW) that's what you should put instead.

simple_search is example of table name, so you put your table name instead.