Executing PHP code stored in a BD

diesel_heart

Hello,

I'm a newbie to PHP and I'm currently developing a system where you have to perform some calculations on a set of values.

One of systems requisite is that the formulas used in the calculations must be stored on the data base. This happens because the formulas are expected to change a lot during the systems life, so you have to have way of just changing the formulas WITHOUT recoding the system.

My question is how can you do this with PHP? Like, execute a formula that has been retrieved from the BD, and have it producing a numerical result.

Here's a (pretty silly) example:

- on the BD you have two tables: Fruits and Formulas like this:

Fruits table:

Fruit          Number
--------------------
Apple          2
Orange        3
Banana        5

Formula table:

Name                        Formula
--------------------------------------
Total_fruits          Apple + Orange + Banana
Apples_Oranges    Apple + Orange

So you want to preform a first query to get the calculating formula and a second query for the data.

If tomorrow you want to exchange the Apples_Oranges formula to "Apple - Orange" it would be just a matter of changing the BD.

Any help on this would be widely appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

I think this is more a question of database design. Assuming at any stage you are just going to want to add or subtract fruits then you could have a table with the name of the result and the fruit as a key, and a weighting to show how it works in the formula.

So you'd start the above with a Formula table looking like:
Total_fruits    Apple    1
Total_fruits    Orange    1
Total_fruits    Banana    1
Apples_Oranges    Apple    1
Apples_Oranges    Orange    1

And then later change it to this:
Total_fruits    Apple    1
Total_fruits    Orange    1
Total_fruits    Banana    1
Apples_Oranges    Apple    1
Apples_Oranges    Orange    -1