Photo

how can I reasign $this reference to point to a different copy of the same class

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 drkstr

drkstr
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 66 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA - USA

Posted 23 August 2006 - 03:01 PM

Hello, sorry if this is the wrong forum, but it seemed like a "core" php work around to me.

I have an object method that needs to be able to grab another object of the same class, then reasign all it's elements to the current ($this) object. I would not like to assign each element indavidually since they will change frequently.  Looks like php prevents me from "re-pointing" $this, does anyone have any clever work arounds for this?

thanks!
..drkstr

PS:
I am very new to PHP, but not new to programming (or programming trickery for that matter)

#2 wildteen88

wildteen88
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 10,482 posts
  • LocationUK, Bournemouth

Posted 23 August 2006 - 05:20 PM

Are you coding in OOP. If you are then $this is a resevered variable. This variable is used in OOP to get variables or functions from within its own class. You might want to use a different variable like $_this, or $This or $THIS all these variables are completly different to php.

#3 448191

• Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 3,545 posts
  • LocationNetherlands

Posted 23 August 2006 - 05:28 PM

Are you coding in OOP. If you are then $this is a resevered variable. This variable is used in OOP to get variables or functions from within its own class. You might want to use a different variable like $_this or something.

Yes, he is. If someone could accomplish what he's trying to do, I'd like to know too. That'd fix my problem here: http://www.phpfreaks...c,104013.0.html

On a sidenote: according to the manual, $this is only a reserved keyword in php5. So what you're trying to do might just work in php4.

#4 448191

• Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 3,545 posts
  • LocationNetherlands