9 replies to this topic

#1 ze_newbie

ze_newbie
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 24 August 2006 - 03:32 PM

Hello everybody,
It's my first post and I just started learning PHP.
So excuse me for these newbie questions.

I open a template (with .tpl extension) and I found these snippets.

{$header}
{$lang.categories}
{/if}
{if $related_categories}

My 1st question is :
I think it is not PHP, please can you tell me what does it mean ?

In the template I found also this :

<meta name="keywords" content="{$keywords}" /> 
<br />

My 2nd question is : why is it for example
<br /> and not <br>
?

Thanks in advance.

#2 trq

trq
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 31,041 posts

Posted 24 August 2006 - 03:37 PM

You are correct, this is not php. There are many template systems built with php and this appears to be one of them. Usually these template files are parsed by a template engine and the {$variables} you see are replace by something in a database.

#3 ze_newbie

ze_newbie
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 24 August 2006 - 03:39 PM

Thanks thorpe for your quick reply.
Please is there any tutorial for this.

#4 trq

trq
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 31,041 posts

Posted 24 August 2006 - 03:42 PM

There are literally thousands of template engines written in php. Most are pretty simular though some are more complex. What is it you want a tutorial on? Creating the .tpl files? Or actually building a template engine?

The later would not be a good place for a newbie to start learning php.

#5 ze_newbie

ze_newbie
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 24 August 2006 - 03:52 PM

Both please.
Don't worry I learn quickly and I had many years of assembly programming. Assembly was like my mother tongue.
I stopped coding for years but the "mechanic" still nice.  ;D

#6 .josh

.josh
  • Staff Alumni
  • .josh
  • 14,871 posts

Posted 24 August 2006 - 04:21 PM