Jump to content


Photo

Everything to install


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Eddie_In_PHP_Hell

Eddie_In_PHP_Hell
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 4 posts

Posted 30 August 2006 - 01:41 PM

Hi there,

I have a registered domain name that is PHP enabled...

What my problem is is that ive Downlaoded MySQL and Apache but i cannot use Apache for an unknown reason...

I am thinking that i havent downloaded something...

So could someone please list EVERYTHING i need to install in order to have a computer that has PHP so my site can recognise it...

All i know to install is Apache and MySQL  ???

So could someone please list everything needed to install... even the little things i may need, and if you could paste the URL of from where i can download the software that would be most kind :)

Many Thanks,

~ Eddie

#2 ToonMariner

ToonMariner
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 3,342 posts
  • LocationNewcastle upon Tyne, UK

Posted 30 August 2006 - 01:48 PM

if this is on a live serer that is hosting your site you will already have apache (or god-forbid IIS).

to find out upload a filewith JUST this in it into your root directory.

<?php
phpinfo();
?>

call it info.php

and then simply goto your site and ad info.php to the url. This will give you all the info about your installation, which server app you have (hopefully apache) whether mysql is available etc etc.

delete the file when you have done - you don't need to let everyone see your servers details!!!
follow me on twitter @PHPsycho

#3 Eddie_In_PHP_Hell

Eddie_In_PHP_Hell
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 4 posts

Posted 30 August 2006 - 02:00 PM

How do i desgnate my website to a specific folder... im a newbie to PHP but have got a video tutorial but first need the sufficent software :$

#4 ToonMariner

ToonMariner
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 3,342 posts
  • LocationNewcastle upon Tyne, UK

Posted 30 August 2006 - 02:03 PM

all this is done for you by your hosts.

They will have sent you ftp account details, probably a control panel account too.

Go and look in there and it shoudl give you some idea of where you are.  Otherwise you will need some live help (at least that will be the quickest way!)
follow me on twitter @PHPsycho

#5 Eddie_In_PHP_Hell

Eddie_In_PHP_Hell
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 4 posts

Posted 30 August 2006 - 02:13 PM

yeah ive got a FTP account and a control panel :)

... but nothing there gives me a clue on what i have to install :(

#6 Eddie_In_PHP_Hell

Eddie_In_PHP_Hell
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 4 posts

Posted 30 August 2006 - 02:25 PM

Would you suggest for me to download SmartFTP to keep myself organised?  :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users